The First Philippine Republic – The 1899 Malolos Constitution

On September 15, 1898, representatives of the provinces liberated from Spain met at Barasoain Church in Malolos, Bulacan, and convened (come or bring together for a meeting or activity; assemble) the Revolutionary Congress, which drafted the Constitution of the First Philippine Republic.

The Philippine Republic , more commonly known as the First Philippine Republic or the Malolos Republic was a short-lived government in the Philippines. It was formally established with the proclamation of the Malolos Constitution on January 23, 1899 in Malolos , Bulacan until the capture and surrender of Emilio Aguinaldo to the American forces on March 23, 1901 in Palanan, Isabela, which effectively dissolved the First Republic.

The establishment of the Philippine Republic was the culmination of the Philippine Revolution against Spanish rule. Independence was declared on June 12, 1898 and the dictatorial government then in place was replaced by a revolutionary government headed by Emilio Aguinaldo as president on June 12, 1898 with its preliminary statement proclaiming Luzon and Visayas as the Philippine Republic declaring its independence, and that Maguindanao-Mindanao and Sulu are independent sovereignty States and are allies. The U.S. abolished the Philippine Republic in 1899 and continued its annexation of the islands pursuant to the Treaty of Paris which ended the Spanish-American War. View Source


We, the Representatives of the
Filipino People, legally convened to
establish justice, provide for the
common defense, promote the
general welfare and ensure the
blessings of liberty, imploring the
aid of the Sovereign Lawgiver of the
Universe in order to obtain these
objectives, have voted, decreed and
approved the following:


Title 1 — On the Republic

Article 1 The political association of all
Filipinos constitutes a Nation, whose
State shall be named the Philippine